How Stoic Philosophy Helped Me Find Strength and Resilience During Cancer Treatment

--

Life is short, so make every moment count. The Stoics believed in living a life of purpose and leaving a positive legacy. Cultivate inner peace, practice self-discipline, and focus on what truly matters.

Great wisdom is not about having all the answers, but about asking the right questions. Question your assumptions, challenge your beliefs, and seek the truth with an open heart and mind.

Stoic philosophy played a crucial role in helping me navigate my cancer treatment with strength and resilience.

By: Ride Hamilton
(A Cancer Patient Abuse Survivor)

As someone who was diagnosed with cancer, and endured years of battle and suffering — I nearly died several times and I lost much of my white blood cells and all of my hair, but a few strands — I can attest to the fact that the experience is both physically and emotionally draining.

I found practicing Stoic philosophy during my treatment helped me find inner strength and resilience.

Stoicism, which emphasizes the importance of virtue, wisdom, and self-control, teaches us to focus on what we can control and let go of what we cannot. This philosophy provided me with a sense of empowerment during a time when I felt helpless and out of control.

One of the key Stoic principles that helped me was the concept of “amor fati,” or love of fate. This idea involves accepting whatever happens in life and embracing it as an opportunity to learn and grow. By embracing my cancer diagnosis, I was able to shift my mindset from one of despair to one of acceptance, planning, attack, survival, and optimism.

Another important Stoic principle which helped me was the idea of “memento mori,” or the reminder of death. While this may seem morbid, the practice of contemplating one’s own mortality can actually be liberating. It reminds us to live in the present moment and appreciate the time we have. This concept helped me focus on what was truly important in my life and gave me the courage to face my illness head-on.

Stoicism also emphasizes the importance of resilience and mental toughness. The Stoics believed that the path to wisdom and inner peace involves enduring hardship and adversity with courage and grace. This mindset helped me stay strong during the difficult moments of my treatment, and allowed me to find peace and happiness even in the face of immense and terrible adversity.

Stoic philosophy played a crucial role in helping me navigate my cancer treatment with the strength and resilience I needed to live — especially when giving up crossed my mind, or I had to fight against deadly infections because I had almost no immune system left.

By embracing the concepts of “amor fati,” “memento mori,” and mental toughness, I was able to find peace (though not necessarily happiness) even in the most difficult of circumstances. I was able to stand up for myself.

I was constantly physically weak. I was frequently vomiting, feverish, exhausted, and hurting. I no longer looked in the mirror because all my head hair was gone. I showed my nurses who took my blood samples pictures of what I used to look like. They cringed for me, because I no longer looked like that. It is almost like a ghost showing their former body to living people.

I was also being abused by a narcissist. This made by battle with cancer a hell (as if cancer and chemotherapy is not terrible enough). I know of no greater misery than to be abused by a “Cluster B” person with “Narcissistic Personality Disorder”.

Stoicism steeled my mind and my will inside a fragile and mortal shell.

I am grateful for the wisdom and guidance that Stoic philosophy provided me during my fight with cancer and abuse. Neither are over, and Stoic principles remain my co-pilot so I can stay flying and not crash.

I encourage others facing similar struggles, of all sizes, to consider exploring these powerful teachings.

Please share in the comments how any Stoic philosophies helped you.

We can educate, help, and improve each other.

I’d like to hear!

--

--

Ride Hamilton (Cancer & Abuse Survivor)

I am a writer and artist. I survived both cancer (barely) and narcissistic abuse (barely). I intimately understand trauma and PTSD. I teach others. …With LOVE.